GP Synergy Board appointments announced - GP Synergy

GP Synergy Board appointments announced

Home / GP Synergy Board appointments announced

GP Synergy welcomes the appointment of new Directors Ms Megan Cahill, Dr Elizabeth McEntyre and Prof Diana O’Halloran to the GP Synergy Board, and the reappointment of Drs Ian Kamerman and Liz Marles.

GP Synergy extends its sincere thanks to retiring Directors Mr Brett Cowling and Dr Karen Flegg.

The appointments were made following the announcement of member ballot results at GP Synergy’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Wednesday 7 October 2020.

Newly appointed Director, Ms Megan Cahill, is the CEO of the ACT Primary Health Network. As former CEO of General Practice Education and Training (GPET), she has experience in delivery of the Australian General Practice Training program and its transition to Department of Health. Megan has been a member of the RACGP Expert Committee – Pre-Fellowship and CEO of the Rural Workforce Agency Victoria (RWAV), the latter having responsibility for managing the training of rural generalists. Megan is a member of the National Advisory Group for the Medicine in Australia: Balancing Employment and Life (MABEL) and a Director of the National Rural Health Alliance.

Dr Elizabeth McEntyre is a Worimi and Wonnarua woman through bloodlines and her Country spans Port Stephens, the Barrington Tops, the Great Lakes and the Hunter Valley of NSW. She has extensive experience in government and the Aboriginal community-led sector providing primary health and wellbeing and business services to Aboriginal peoples and communities in NSW. Elizabeth is an accredited mental health social worker, the Aboriginal Official Visitor of prisons state-wide with the NSW Inspector of Custodial Services, and a member of the NSW Mental Health Review Tribunal conducting civil and forensic hearings. In addition to this work, Elizabeth advises a number of universities, professional associations and committees, and serves as a Board Member with Mindaribba Local Aboriginal Land Council, Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network and Hunter Local Land Services.

Diana O’Halloran AO is currently the Chair of WentWest Ltd – the Western Sydney PHN, and a Conjoint Professor in the Department of General Practice, Western Sydney University. Diana’s major current involvements are in Primary Health Care policy, strategy and system reform. Past experience includes working as a medical educator in Western Sydney and rural regions and completion of a Masters Degree in Health Professional Education. As a past RACGP Curriculum Committee member Diana has been involved in educational policy and curriculum development, and as past Chair of the RACGP Education Standing Committee had oversight of RACGP educational responsibilities. She has also chaired RACGP Health System Reform Presidential Task Forces, and is a past Board member of RACGP and GPET.

“We warmly welcome the appointments of Ms Cahill, Dr McEntyre and Prof O’Halloran,” GP Synergy Chair, Dr Ian Kamerman said.

“Their diverse and substantial expertise will complement and enhance the GP Synergy Board.

“We look forward to the contribution they will make to the future of GP training in NSW and ACT.”

Dr Kamerman also paid tribute to retiring Directors Mr Brett Cowling and Dr Karen Flegg.

“Both Brett and Karen have contributed significantly to the GP Synergy board during their tenure.

“Brett’s experience and insight in Aboriginal health and government relations has been invaluable to the Board, as has Karen’s significant medical education expertise and knowledge of the sector.

“On behalf of the GP Synergy Board, I sincerely thank both for their commitment and involvement, and wish them all the best in their future endeavours,” he said.

 The GP Synergy Board

  • Dr Ian Kamerman (Chair)
  • Dr Michael Bonning (Deputy Chair)
  • Ms Megan Cahill
  • Associate Professor Lyn Fragar AO
  • Dr Elizabeth Marles
  • Dr Elizabeth McEntyre
  • Dr Sandra Mendel
  • Conjoint Professor Diana O’Halloran AO
  • Mr Damon Rees

For more information visit:


For more information please contact:

Kerryn Stephens | Media and Communications Officer