GP Synergy Board appointments announced - GP Synergy

GP Synergy Board appointments announced

GP Synergy welcomes the appointment of new Directors Drs Elizabeth Marles and Fiona Robinson, and the reappointment of Associate Professor Michelle Guppy to the GP Synergy Board. GP Synergy extends it sincere thanks to retiring Directors Drs Jacqueline Korner and Sayeed Khan who have greatly contributed their time and efforts to the GP Synergy Board since 2007 and 2013 respectively.

GP Synergy is also pleased to announce the re-election of Dr Harry Nespolon as Chair and appointment of Dr Ian Kamerman to the new role of Deputy Chair.

The appointments were made following the member ballot results announced at GP Synergy’s Annual General Meeting on Friday, 28 October 2016.

A GP supervisor for over 12 years, Dr Elizabeth Marles is the past President of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP) and a former Director of General Practice Education and Training (GPET). She is currently a Director of Therapeutic Guidelines, a member of the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC) and other government committees. Dr Marles is also a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Dr Fiona Robinson has been involved in medical education for many years. She is currently a senior lecturer with the University of Sydney Medical School in which she is involved in the coordination and delivery of the general practice (community term) curriculum. Dr Robinson also has significant experience in registrar education and training; she was a medical educator with Sydney Institute of General Practice Education and Training (SIGPET)/GP Synergy and continues to be regularly involved with GP Synergy as a clinical teaching visitor, presenter and facilitator.  Dr Robinson is also Chair of the Sydney North Primary Health Network Shared Antenatal Care Steering Committee, and the GP lead for the Health Pathways Program.

Associate Professor Michelle Guppy has been a GP Synergy Board Director since its amalgamation with the New England Area Training Scheme (NEATS) in 2009. A practising GP based in Northwest NSW, she is the Discipline Lead of Rural General Practice at the School of Rural Medicine at the University of New England in Armidale. Associate Professor Guppy is actively involved in research; she is a current recipient of the RACGP Diabetes Australia and Therapeutic Guidelines Research Awards, investigating chronic kidney disease management in general practice. A/Prof Guppy is an editor for the Cochrane Collaboration Acute Respiratory Infections Group and Chair of the New England Division of General Practice.

“We welcome the new Directors to the Board and the valuable contribution they will bring,” says GP Synergy Chair, Dr Harry Nespolon.

“Both Drs Marles and Robinson are well known within the general practice education environment for their expertise and dedication to building a high quality, future general practitioner workforce.

“I am also delighted the strong rural general practice training advocacy and expertise Associate Professor Guppy brings to the GP Synergy Board is being retained,” he says.

Dr Nespolon also paid tribute to retiring Directors, Drs Jacky Korner and Sayeed Khan.

“Dr Korner is a long-standing, active member of the GP Synergy Board.

“Over her tenure of nearly ten years she has contributed enormously to the progression of GP Synergy as a leading provider of GP training, with unwavering dedication and passion.

“Dr Khan has also been an important contributor to the development and success of GP Synergy during a period of significant change.

“On behalf of the GP Synergy Board, we sincerely thank both Dr Korner and Dr Khan for their significant commitment and contribution.”

The GP Synergy Board

  • Dr Harry Nespolon (Chair)
  • Dr Michael Bonning
  • Associate Professor Lyn Fragar AO
  • Associate Professor Michelle Guppy
  • Mr Craig Hocking
  • Dr Ian Kamerman
  • Professor Siaw-Teng Liaw
  • Dr Elizabeth Marles
  • Mr Damon Rees
  • Dr Fiona Robinson
  • Dr Warwick Yonge

– Ends –