GP Synergy Board appointments announced - GP Synergy

GP Synergy Board appointments announced

GP Synergy welcomes the appointment of new Directors Dr Warwick Yonge and Mr Craig Hocking to the GP Synergy Board. GP Synergy is also pleased to announce the reappointment of Adjunct Associate Professor Lyn Fragar and thanks retiring Directors Dr Charlotte Hespe and Dr Aline Smith.

The appointments were made following the member ballot results announced at GP Synergy’s Annual General Meeting on Friday, 30 October 2015.

Dr Warwick Yonge is a North Coast GP supervisor and a recent former Director on the General Practice Training – Valley to Coast (GPTVTC) Board. Dr Yonge trained under the Remote Vocational Training Scheme (RVTS) and is a fellow of both the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP) and the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (ACRRM). He has practised across rural and remote Australia including at cattle stations, Uluru, and several remote Aboriginal communities in the Northern Territory. He has also been an emergency retrieval doctor with the Royal Flying Doctor Service (RFDS). Dr Yonge is an RACGP examiner and partner in interdisciplinary practices in Port Stephens and Port Macquarie, with special interests in Aboriginal health, diabetes and clinical governance.

Mr Craig Hocking is the Chief Executive Officer at Tamworth Aboriginal Medical Service – an Aboriginal community controlled health service. Craig has over eight years of experience within the Aboriginal health sector at both local and regional levels, with qualifications in Aboriginal studies, business management and human resource management.

A/Prof Fragar has been a GP Synergy Board Director since its amalgamation with the New England/Northwest NSW training provider in 2009. Based in Northwest NSW, A/Prof Fragar has extensive clinical and research background. She is Adjunct Associate Professor of the University of Sydney and tutors medical students in the Integrated Population Health program. She is also Adjunct Professor of the University of Notre Dame and assists in teaching students about rural health. A/Prof Fragar has been the recipient of numerous awards, including being appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2002 for pioneering service to rural health care and farm safety issues in Australia.

GP Synergy Chair, Dr Harry Nespolon warmly welcomed the new Directors to the Board and the contribution they will bring to the organisation under the new training arrangements.

“Following recent announcements from the Department of Health, from 1 January 2016 GP Synergy will be responsible for delivering the Australian General Practice Training (AGPT) program to doctors seeking to specialise as GPs across NSW and ACT,” says Dr Nespolon.

“Dr Yonge, Mr Hocking and A/Prof Fragar bring a wealth of experience and expertise, which will further strengthen the GP Synergy Board and help shape the future of GP training in NSW and ACT.”

Dr Nespolon also thanked retiring Directors, Dr Charlotte Hespe and Dr Aline Smith.

“Both Drs Hespe and Smith are long-standing Board Directors who have made significant contributions over a number of years to GP Synergy and GP training.

“Dr Hespe is one of GP Synergy’s longest serving Directors with a tenure spanning over 14 years. She was an inaugural member of the Sydney Institute of General Practice Education and Training (SIGPET) Board and continued as a Director on the GP Synergy Board after the merger in 2009.

“Dr Hespe has held the position of Chair twice, first on the SIGPET Board from 2004-2008, and again on the GP Synergy Board from 2011-2014.

“Dr Hespe’s commitment and passion for GP training has had a profound impact on the organisation and the GP training environment.  Her dedication and leadership is reflected in the high quality training program delivered by GP Synergy today.

“On behalf of the GP Synergy Board, we sincerely thank Dr Hespe for her commitment and contribution to the organisation during her tenure.

“We would also like to extend our heartfelt thanks to Dr Aline Smith – another dedicated general practitioner who has given her time over many years to contribute to building a high quality general practice workforce,” says Dr Nespolon.

The GP Synergy Board

  • Dr Harry Nespolon (Chair)
  • Dr Michael Bonning
  • Associate Professor Lyn Fragar AO
  • Associate Professor Michelle Guppy
  • Mr Craig Hocking
  • Dr Ian Kamerman
  • Dr Sayeed Khan
  • Dr Jacqueline Korner
  • Professor Siaw-Teng Liaw
  • Mr Damon Rees
  • Dr Warwick Yonge

– Ends –