Bathurst GP’s excellence in medical research recognised - GP Synergy

Bathurst GP’s excellence in medical research recognised

On Tuesday, general practice training provider GP Synergy proudly announced local GP registrar Dr Katrina Giskes as the winner of the 2020 Dr Charlotte Hespe Research Award at a presentation in Bathurst.

The award is presented to a GP in training who has conducted outstanding research.

Dr Giskes’ research, undertaken in conjunction with the University of Notre Dame Australia and the Heart Research Institute, examines developing and testing a patient self-screening station for opportunistic screening for atrial fibrillation in rural general practices.

“I lost my father to a devastating stroke that was caused by atrial fibrillation.

“That outcome can be largely avoided by early detection, so I really know the value of screening and case detection for atrial fibrillation,” Dr Giskes said.

As part of her training to become a specialist GP, Dr Giskes undertook a year of academic training.

“I didn’t have a grand plan to become a GP from the outset, but it was a progression from a number of other things I had done earlier in my career,” Dr Giskes said.

“I originally trained as a dietitian/nutritionist and then went on to study my PhD in epidemiology.

“General practice seemed to be a natural progression for me as I have a chance to make a difference in patient’s lives.

“Having spent more than 10 years in research including an international post-doctoral position, being an academic GP is something I’m passionate about.”

Mrs Georgina van de Water, CEO of GP Synergy, said supporting GPs in training to undertake academic research is an important contribution to evidence-based general practice.

“This is a great example of an academic post translating into real patient outcomes.

“Dr Giskes has demonstrated excellence in academic research and GP Synergy is delighted to be able to present her with the 2020 Dr Charlotte Hespe Research Award,” Mrs van de Water said.


For more information please contact:

Kerryn Stephens | Media and Communications Officer